13 March 2009
In the past week the Utah Jazz have had two instances with the 24 second clock. I have been thinking about both of them for a while and am confused about the official rules. Anyway the two situations were
First, last Friday when the Nuggets came to town there was a play in the the fourth quarter
|10:19||Deron Williams blocks Chauncey Billups's 25-foot three point jumper||71-74|
Second, the play that Josh Smith had the other night he got fouled as the shot clock went of and was awarded the basket +1. We didn't lose the game on this play but it did swing momentum.
The official rule is-
If a team fails to attempt a field goal within the time allotted, a 24-second violation shall be called.The ball is awarded to the defensive team at the sideline, nearest the spot where play was suspended but no nearer to the baseline than the free throw line extended.
j. If there is a question whether or not an attempt to score has been made within the 24 seconds allowed, the final decision shall be made by the officials.
Unless Deron had possession of the ball when the buzzer/light went off the ruling was correct and play was stopped and the ball was taken side out. However I don't know for sure if he didn't have possession before the buzzer sounded, either way we won.
c. The 24-second clock shall be reset to 24 seconds anytime the following occurs: (1) Change of possession
(2) Ball from the playing court contacting the basket ring of the team which is in possession (3) Personal foul where ball is being inbounded in backcourt (4) Violation where ball is being inbounded in backcourt (5) Jump balls which are not the result of a held ball caused by the defense (6) All flagrant and punching fouls
k. Whenever the 24-second clock reads 0 and the ball is dead for any reason other than a defensive three-second violation, kicking violation, punched ball violation, personal foul or a technical foul by the defensive team, a 24-second violation has occurred.
k. Explains the incident with Josh Smith, it was a bang bang play, but from watching the game again it looks in real time that he got fouled while the 24 second clock read one, and then with continuation the clock hit zero but he got the dunk and +1. I assume that continuation supersedes the shot clock violation. I can't find anything in the rules about continuation and the a shot violation.
A 24 second violation is not reviewable by instant replay unless it is at the end of a quarter. Which means, that the shot clock would almost have to be identical or with .5 seconds of the game clock requiring a replay.
After all is said and done, from what I gather both plays were called correctly as far as the refs could see. With replay unavailable in both situations the refs (in both situations) gathered together and called the correct play according to the rules and what they saw on the court. The only argument one could have, is that Deron had possession before the light/buzzer went off or that Josh smith got fouled after the light/buzzer went off. Once again I think both of these plays could have gone either way. -S
|< Prev||Next >|